To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

Tamil Nadu: Jayalalithaa returns for second consecutive term

AIADMK won at least 132 of the 232 assembly seats in the state. DMK-Cong alliance get at least 95

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: May 19 2016 11:17AM | Updated Date: May 19 2016 10:47PM

Tamil Nadu: Jayalalithaa returns for second consecutive term
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa led her AIADMK to a second five-year term on Thursday, conformably defeating a divided opposition and proving wrong exit polls that predicted her ouster.
"I am overwhelmed by the resounding victory given by the people. My party and I are indebted to the people of Tamil Nadu," an emotive Jayalalithaa said as the AIADMK won at least 132  of the 232 assembly seats.
"After 1984, no ruling party in the state has been able to win an election and form the government for a successive term," she added.
The actor-turned-politician, who is known to nurture larger national political ambitions, said there was no word in dictionary to describe her feelings. The victory "is truly historic".
The DMK-Congress combine which had hoped to unseat Jayalalithaa had to settle at least 95 seats, with the Congress tally getting reduced to just eight. A solitary seat went to DMK ally, the Indian Union Muslim League.
Only solace for the alliance was in Puducherry, where the alliance bagged 17 off the 30 seats.
More than the DMK-Congress defeat was the washout of a six-party alliance in Tamil Nadu, led by actor-turned-politician and chief ministerial hopeful  A. Vijaykanth who himself finished third in his constituency Ulundurpettai.
The CPI and MDMK -- part of the six-party grouping -- blamed their defeat on the "money power" unleashed by the AIADMK and the DMK.
"The AIADMK and DMK bribed the voters on a large scale," MDMK leader Vaiko said. "It was the money power that won in the 2016 assembly elections."
Added Communist leader R. Mutharasan: "We tried to form a third front but were not able to fight the money power."
None of this made any difference to the tens of thousands of AIADMK supporters, including a large number of women, who celebrated the party's victory outside Jayalalithaa's residence and all across the state.
The PMK, which for the first time fought in all the constituencies, could not win a single seat. The Bharatiya Janata Party and its allies which too contested all the seats suffered a similar fate.
Polling was postponed in two constituencies by the Election Commission. 
The DMK did make major gains but this proved to be mainly at the cost of other opposition parties - indicating that Jayalalithaa's victory was made possible by a splintered opposition. 
The bad news for the AIADMK came from Chennai, which was battered by flash floods in December and whose voters appeared to have overwhelmingly turned against the ruling party.
AIADMK candidates trailed behind the DMK in 10 of the 16 constituencies in the capital. 
Jayalalithaa retained her Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency in the city, defeating  DMK candidate by 39,545 votes.
DMK president and former chief minister M. Karunanidhi, 91, was also elected to the assembly from Thiruvarur -- for the 13th time. He has never been defeated since he began contesting elections in 1957.