To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

Manohar becomes first ever independent ICC Chairman

After the resignation in BCCI, Shashank Manohar starts his two-year term as ICC Chairman

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: May 12 2016 3:04PM | Updated Date: May 12 2016 5:31PM

Manohar becomes first ever independent ICC Chairman

International Cricket Council (ICC) has unimpeded and unanimously elected Shashank Manohar as the first independent chairman of  after the full council approved the constitutional amendments proposed by the board in April meet, a press release on the ICC website said.


“It is an honour to be elected as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council and for that I am thankful to all the ICC directors who have put their faith and trust in my abilities. I also take this opportunity to thank all my colleagues in the BCCI who have supported me during my recent time as the BCCI’s President," Manohar said after his election.


“These are exciting times for international cricket as we are presently carrying out a comprehensive review of the 2014 constitutional amendments which is aimed at not only improving governance structures, but cricket structures as well. The ultimate objective is to grow our sport and engage a whole new generation of fans and I look forward to working with all stakeholders to shape the future of cricket, which has a proud history and rich tradition,” the former BCCI president added.


According to the reports, ICC directors were each allowed to nominate one candidate, who had to be either a present or past ICC director. Nominees with the support of two or more full member directors were eligible to contest the election, which was scheduled to be concluded by 23 May.


However, Mr Manohar being the sole nominee for the position and the Board has now unanimously supported his appointment, the independent Audit Committee Chairman, Mr Adnan Zaidi, who has been managing the election process, has declared the procedure complete, and Mr Manohar the chairman.


Manohar had functioned as the BCCI president from 2008-2011. He was re-elected as the BCCI president in October 2015 following the passing of the then mandatory president Jagmohan Dalmiya, and by then had successfully held the role of ICC Chairman since then.


On Wednesday, Manohar had resigned as BCCI president ahead of ICC elections and claimed that he was "forced" to quit the BCCI top job. "I could not work in the present scenario. I don't want to name anyone, but can say I have been forced to resign," Manohar said.


BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur has favvoured him to succeed Manohar as BCCI president.