To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

With eye on UP polls, BJP to brainstorm at Allahabad

Two-day conclave is likely to pass political and economic resolutions

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: Jun 11 2016 2:43PM | Updated Date: Jun 11 2016 2:43PM

With eye on UP polls, BJP to brainstorm at Allahabad

With assembly polls almost a year away in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP will brainstorm in Allahabad on Sunday and Monday to come out with a strategy to get back to power in the state.

Iidea is to highlight the achievements of NDA Government in Centre in the last two years and the alleged corruption of the Samajwadi Party government in Uttar Pradesh.
Party’s national executive will be formally opened by Prime Minister Modi and BJP President Amit Shah on Sunday, followed by the presidential address.
BJP office bearers will meet earlier to set the agenda.
The two-day conclave is likely to pass political and economic resolutions, the latter focusing on agriculture.
"There is goonda raj in Uttar Pradesh under Akhilesh Yadav. The cocktail politics of Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Congress and Rashtriya Lok Dal have ruined the state," BJP national secretary Srikant Sharma said.
"We will be giving a call to end this goonda raj," he told a news agency.
The meeting will also discuss what the BJP says is the deteriorating law and order, corruption and misrule in Uttar Pradesh.
The Prime Minister will address a Parivartan Rally in Allahabad as soon as the National Executive concludes on Monday.
The National Executive will commence its meeting after Modi arrives and it will continue till Monday afternoon.
The gathering is taking place amidst rumour that Home Minister Rajnath Singh may be projected as the party's chief ministerial candidate in Uttar Pradesh.
Rajnath Singh has denied the possibility. BJP sources said the issue was not likely to figure in Allahabad.
The BJP won an incredible 71 of the 80 seats from Uttar Pradesh in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Two seats went to its ally, Apna Dal. The Samajwadi Party could win only five seats while the Congress managed two. The BSP was wiped out.