To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

Mamata sworn in as West Bengal CM for second time

As many as 41 MLAs took oath as ministers including former cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: May 27 2016 2:06PM | Updated Date: May 27 2016 4:40PM

Mamata sworn in as West Bengal CM for second time

Mamata Banerjee sworn in as chief minister of West Bengal. (Photo: ANI)


Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee was sworn in as West Bengal chief minister for the second time on Friday.

She was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi at the Indira Gandhi Sarani (Red Road) in Kolkata.
Banerjee took her oath in Bengali.
Galaxy of leaders who were present on the occasion include Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Bangladesh Industry Minister Amir Hossain Amu, union ministers Arun Jaitley and Babul Supriyo, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah, RJD leader Lalu Prasad among others.
As many as 41 MLAs took oath as ministers including former cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla.
Out of new ministers, 18 are new faces, while four are women including Banerjee herself.
Among the faces in her council of ministers include Abdur Rezzak Mollah, an eight-time CPI(M) MLA and land reforms minister in the Left regime, who was a huge critic of ex-chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee. He had spoken out against the Bhattacharjee government’s acquisition of land in Singur and Nandigram.
There are seven names from earlier government who won the elections but were dropped, from council of ministers as of today. 
Prominent among them are Rabindranath Bhattacharya and Becharam Manna, both members of the Singur movement. Sudarshan Ghosh Dastidar was also not included because of his poor health.
Her council of ministers also include Firhad Hakim, Subrata Mukherjee, Sovon Chatterjee and Suvendu Adhikari, four of several party leaders who were shown in a  sting operation taking money in return for doling out favours to a fictitious company.
While Hakim and Mukherjee were retained in cabinet, Chatterjee and Adhikari are among the new faces in the new council of ministers.
Apart from ex- transport minister Madan Mitra, the five MLAs caught in sting, emerged unscathed in the assembly polls. 
Jailed in the multi-crore rupee Saradha chit fund scam, Mitra is one of most high profile causalities for the Trinamool Congress, which won Assembly elections winning 211 of the 294 seats.
Iqbal Ahmed, who retained Khanakool constituency, is the only "stung" MLA, who could not found a ministerial berth.