To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

Campaign ends in TN, around 3,800 candidates in fray

After 2 months of struggle, Campaign For Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections Ends Today

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: May 14 2016 2:52PM | Updated Date: May 14 2016 3:10PM

Campaign ends in TN, around 3,800 candidates in fray

 The long going on challenging campaigning in peak summer for the May 16 Tamil Nadu assembly election that is witnessing a multi-cornered race comes to an end today.


According to the report, more than 5.79 crore voters in 234 assembly constituencies will decide the fortune of 3,776 aspirants, including four Chief Ministerial candidates -- incumbent J Jayalalithaa of AIADMK, DMK's M Karunanidhi, DMDK's Vijayakant and Anbumani Ramadoss of PMK.


The campaign will lasts today giving the leaders a sign of relief from the long going issue during which they criss crossed the length and breadth of the state perusing the voters.


Tamil Nadu is witnessing a multi-cornered contest with AIADMK, DMK, PWF-DMDK-TMC combine, BJP-led alliance and PMK contesting.


Jayalalithaa is in quest of a record second successive term in office in the state, where elections have dismissed the ruling party in the recent decades.


The Election Commission has taken all steps to ensure a High voting percentage, with its #Mission100percent awareness campaign that winessed actors, sports persons and other celebrities besides social network platform Twitter and Facebook being persuade to educate the voters to spread their democratic right.


As many as 65,616 polling booths have been set up in 234 constituencies in 32 districts of the state, up from the 54,016 in 2011.


As many as 6,300 booths have been identified as insightful, where security and other observing mechanisms have gone up.


According top the reports,Of the 234 seats, 44 (SC) and two (ST) are reserved constituencies. In 17 constituencies, the EC is implementing Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT), which will enable a voter to verify that his vote has been cast to the wished-for candidate.


Among the top leaders in the tussle are Jayalalithaa, DMK chief Karunanidhi, his son MK Stalin, Chief Ministerial candidates of DMK-PWF-TMC combine and PMK, Vijayakant and Anbumani Ramadoss respectively.


Moreover, AIADMK, contesting 227 seats, has tied up with some small outfits, and they will also be contesting on the party's Two Leaves symbol.


Adding to that report, party General Secretary Jayalalithaa is contesting from RK Nagar in the city for a second term.


DMK is leading an alliance comprising Congress and several smaller outfits and the Karunanidhi-led party is contesting on 180 seats.    


While the opposition including DMK and BJP dwelled upon prohibition and corruption, Jayalalithaa sought votes for her government's five year-performance.


In one of the hard fought electoral battles, flow of illegal money was a major challenge for electoral authorities which apprehended over an unmatched Rs 100 crore of unaccounted cash. Of this, Rs 37 crore has, however, been returned to the owners on submission of documents.


Counting of votes will be held on May 19.