To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

Rebels releases sting video against Rawat

Rebel MLAs of Cong released a sting video, which according to them, showed cm indulging in horse-trading

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: Mar 26 2016 10:25PM | Updated Date: Mar 26 2016 10:40PM

Rebels releases sting video against Rawat

Rebel MLAs of Congress party in Uttarakhand on Saturday released a sting video of Chief Minister Harish Rawat which, according to them, showed him indulging in horse-trading to save his government.

Sting showed Rawat allegedly offering money to MLAs to vote for his government in t vote of confidence asked  by Governor K.K. Paul before March 28.
While releasing the video, rebel Congress MLA Harak Singh Rawat said that CM was trying to bribe the nine rebel Congress legislators as well as few of those of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He also alleged that the rebels have been receiving life threats.
Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal had served notice to nine rebels, seeking their responses by Saturday on why they should not be disqualified from membership of Assembly under the anti-defection law for violating the party discipline.
Harak Singh also said sting video showed that CM was talking of offering Rs.5 crore to each legislator to return to the party.
"We have expressed concern over our security to the central government as we are getting threats. We've asked them to make arrangements for us. We have also requested the governor to immediately dismiss such a corrupt government of the mafia," he added.
Soon after release of sting, Rawat held a press conference where he accused the journalist, who conducted the sting, of siding with Opposition parties to "destablise his government and bring a bad name to the state". 
Nine Congress MLAs had rebelled against the chief minister few days back when they sought a vote division on the floor of the house. The speaker rejected the demand.
Before current crisis, Congress had 36 legislators in the 70-member assembly. The ruling party also has the support of six members of the Progressive Democratic Front, while the BJP has 28 legislators.