To take your ideas to Policymakers, Join the Campaign of #PolicyPulse Write to

Two Indians receive Magsaysay awards 2016

One of the recipients of the award is human rights activist while other is classical musician

Policy Pulse
Publish Date: Jul 27 2016 12:38PM | Updated Date: Jul 27 2016 12:38PM

Two Indians receive Magsaysay awards 2016
India got another proud moment today when a human rights activist Bezwada Wilson and Indian classical musician TM Krishna were awarded the Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016.
The Roman Magsaysay award happens to be the second largest honor after Noble Prize, which is given to human beings having done something remarkable in their field. The award is after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay.
Talking about the two, Bezwada Wilson was born to a dalit family and has been awarded for asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity while the Chennai based musician TM Krishna has been awarded for ensuring social inclusiveness in culture.
Apart from the two, the award has been given to Conchita Carpio-Morales from the Philippines, Indonesin Dompet Dhuafa, Vientiane Rescue from Laos and the Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers.
Also, last year, several Indians were awarded Magsaysay including Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.